What should Mr. Anant do now? What should be his next step? Many of us were able to relate themselves with Mr. Anant. Because it is what you face.
In 2019, every marketer seeks instant results, he doesn’t want to go through a lengthy process but, want conversions as quickly as possible.
There comes, Pay Per Click Advertising.
Well, How effective is PPC? Although SEO is an important marketing strategy for all businesses. It is also observed, bigger brands get the most clicks because of their high ranks in a wide variety of keywords.
And, it is Google which rarely highlights smaller brands on its top results. And it becomes difficult for small businesses to reach the target audience.
Taking this concept in mind, Pay Per Click Advertising comes in the picture, which possesses a huge potential to give exposure to small scale companies.
If you are a small business owner and looking to increase your audience outreach, check’em out – How to build your first PPC campaign 2019.
What is Pay Per Click Advertising?
PPC advertising is a great source of directing more targeted traffic to your website, by using relevant keywords, related to the stuff you sell or the industry in which you are working.
It sounds like, you have to pay each time, any potential customer hits your advertisement. This paid advertising is seen as the most effective digital marketing strategy, you can apply to your marketing campaigns.
PPC ads run on a variety of platforms viz social media channels and search engines like google, bing, etc.
In Google Ads, when you type any keyword search query, you’ll get results to appear at the top. Or these ads can also be seen on the websites, which are the components of the Google display network. PPC Ads also run over Social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter or Instagram, they can be easily seen in stories, social media feeds, etc.
If you are planning to launch your first PPC campaign, dive right in to ensure your campaign is a successful one.
9 Basic Steps to Start a PPC (Pay Per Click) Campaign
1. Start with Research
Every successful AdWords campaign starts with honest research. Identify the objective of running those paid advertisements campaigns.
Since the goal of every research is to find a target audience that ultimately moves to conversions.
How to start customer research? Before launching an Ads campaign, you should first focus on your customer’s taste, what do they want, what they are exactly looking for?
Start pulling the trigger by selecting some keywords, but wait, what if, your customers are not searching for the keywords and phrases you target?
Whether you are planning to increase your sales or subscribers, it is very important to know, what are you starting with, otherwise, it will be too late to run ads and will ultimately give you no returns.
Draw on customer data, you are currently having, go for buyer personas, to help yourself with relevant keywords, you want them to appear, when a user searches for the stuff you sell.
Make a list and begin.
2. Use (Top – 1) strategy to check the demand with keyword tools
As you are done with the keyword list. Now, your next task would be keyword validation. There are various online free and paid keyword selection and planning tools, available in the market, what we recommend is Google Keyword Planner, wordtracker etc.
What is (Top – 1) strategy?
- Prepare a separate spreadsheet.
- Generate keywords, using keyword analysis tool.
- Pick Long Tail keywords, which are less competitive.
- Choose the middle option. Avoid picking highly competitive keywords, rather than go for good search volume, and less competition is okay.
- Also, you can customize with the date range, demographically, age, location etc.
These tools will work as a gold miner in your paid ads campaign. It will help you get top ranking keywords, with their search volume, CPC(Cost Per Click), competition etc.
Suggest variations with LSI keywords and remember, keywords with higher competition rank higher than those which are having less competition.
3. Organize your PPC keywords and structure them
Once, you are done with segmenting your keywords, it’s time to act smart, organize your keywords on the basis of the target audience.
How to organize your keywords?
- Prepare a list of targeted keywords, by adding variations – Long Tail Keywords.
- Group your keywords, on the basis of relation.
- Pluck targeted keyword groups.
- Create the most relevant ads for each ad group.
For example Term like “shoes” has far lesser purchase intent than anybody search for “Sporty Running Shoes ”
On the basis of that, pick keywords by keeping in mind which specific group you are targeting.
4. Include negative keywords in your first Google PPC campaign.
This is a hyper-segmentation phase of paid advertising. You Ad gets visible to a certain segment of people, who are only interested in what you are selling.
You can use “negative” in those terms, which are not related to your ad. This will exclude that category of audience, which has nothing to do with your items.
It saves your money and turning out a best Google PPC strategy to avoid irrelevant clicks.
5. Have you checked your budget?
“Can I manage to advertise this keyword?”
Define budget for your paid marketing, as you have to pay for each click. Before approaching further, ask yourself what is the purpose of this ad campaign or what is the intent behind searching the keywords you have collected?
Will, my ad get clicks, is my PPC ad convertible?
This is simple elementary mathematics, how?
I have read this, in one of Neil Patel’s post, which says… “You should have a max cost per click that you’re willing to pay for any given keyword to avoid overspending on advertising.”
It is like everyone, who wants results when they have invested. What you need is focus on conversion rates and the amount of profit, you are getting on each conversion, profit margins etc. These practices will help you set a max Cost per Conversion (CPC).
You can use this –
Max CPC = (profit per customer) * (1 – profit margin) * (website conversion rate)
Suppose, on every 1000 visits, there are 30 conversions, the ie conversion rate is 3%. if the profit from your average customers is $500.
With an estimated profit margin of 30%, the calculation would be rough –
Max CPC = $500 * (1 – 0.30) * 3% = $10.50
This is your max CPC, if you are planning to spend higher than that, would be stressful.
6. Figure out your competitors
“Learning from others mistakes is a great approach to save yourself”
Analyze your PPC campaign by analyzing your competitors and market trends. There are various competitive research tools available, both paid and free, which can find out who are those, selling the same products and services, like you. Or running paid campaigns to advertise.
How Adwords can identify your competitors?
- Login to Adwords, with your credentials.
- Visit one of your campaigns
- Go to details
- Click “all” under Auction Insights
It’s very important to have a check on impression share while reporting. It signifies, how your competitors are bidding. And when you get to your competitors, you can identify those keywords, which are benefiting them.
Remember – Monkey See, Monkey don’t!
7. Draft a better ad copy
Now, you have prepared cool targeted keywords list and you have identified your competitors. It’s time to wrap a compelling ad. How to write a better ad copy?
Good Ad copies affect ROI (Return On Investment). It’s hardly matters, what is the age of your content if it is carrying clicks and conversion, it rocks!
Personalize your campaign to understand your customers’ wants and analyze the customer reach. Pay Per Click Ads perform better when they are targeted and speak about your customer’s needs and requirements.
Since paid ads offer limited ad space, make sure whatever you are writing should be enough aimed and persuasive.
What is the structure of an ad?
Your ad should be divided into 3 segments viz.
- Compelling Headline
- Description lines
- Display URL
Now, you have created a good ad copy, by taking USP in mind, it should be unique and convertible.
8. Create a strong and relevant CTAs’.
The last but very powerful step of ad campaigning, smart CTA’s. “GET” and “NOW” are the two most actionable words, which attracts clicks and give conversions, very frequently and quicker than others.
There are others like – Free, Your, Save, Top, Best are some of the terms which attract the audience towards your ads by indicating urgency, short-of-stock, consciousness, and personalization.
Tell your customers what to do? Put CTA’s on actions, you want your customers should perform, after watching your ad.
9. Add extensions and convert more
It’s completely up to you, Further, you can also enhance conversions through Google PPC ads by adding extensions to it. These extensions increase the level of interaction with your customers and help your customers to relinquish the landing page quicker.
We Want Your Feedback!
With this, we came to the very end of this blog. Mr. Anant has greatly influenced, and he has almost started by running his first ad campaign in PPC. Within a month, he is getting results with an incremental ROI of 30%. Things are gradual, but at least they are working.
Once, you have launched your pay per click campaign, that does not mean, you have to leave things in between. Rather than, you need to analyze the performance of your ads on a continuous basis to improve them further.
Still, there are chances, you may find difficulties by following the above steps, since, market trends and technologies keep on changing.
What you can do is, avoid them as per as you can and improve your conversions by adjusting keyword bidding, use of new keywords and segmenting your ads and eliminate those which are not performing well.
Continue to optimize your sales funnel and keep your ads well targeted and aimed with us.
I would love, if you respond to us and if something is missing. We will get back to you, at the earliest. Till then, Keep reading knowledgeable posts with MakeWebBetter.